Logo MSSS
Site banner

Health and Social Services Institutions

Home > Network > Health and Social Services Institutions

Mission

Health and Social Services Institutions provide general and specialized services to the population that correspond to the five major missions defined in the Act Respecting Health Services and Social Services(CQLR c S-4.2) and vary according to whether they are a:

In Québec, institutions may carry out more than one mission. Thus, integrated health and social services centres and integrated university health and social services centres may operate one or more of the following: a CLSC, CHSLD, CH, CPEJ or CR. Such mission groupings are aimed at improving the integration of services.

Local Community Service Centre

The mission of the local community services centre (CLSC) is to provide, to the population of its territory, frontline common health and social services, as well as preventive, curative, rehabilitative and/or reintegration services and carry out public health activities. Integrated centres that assume this mission must ensure that persons needing such services for themselves or their loved ones are contacted, that their needs are evaluated and that the required services are provided at their sites or in the living environments of these individuals, meaning at school, at work or at home. If needed, it will ensure that they are directed to the centres, organisations or persons most likely to help them.

Hospital Centre

The mission of the hospital centre (CH) is to provide diagnostic services, as well as general and specialized medical care. There are two categories of hospital centres:

  • General and specialized hospital centres
  • Psychiatric care hospital centres

Residential and Long-term Care Centre

The mission of the residential and long-term care centre (CHSLD) is to provide temporary or permanent lodging, assistance, support and monitoring, as well as psychosocial, nursing, pharmaceutical, medical and rehabilitation services to adults who, because of their loss of functional and/or psychosocial autonomy, are no longer able to remain in their natural living environments.

Child and Youth Protection Centre

The mission of the child and youth protection centre (CPEJ) is to provide psychosocial services (including emergency social services) to young people who need them in situations defined by the Youth Protection Act (CQLR c P-34.1) and the Youth Criminal Justice Act (SC 2002, c 1). This mission also covers child placement, family mediation, Superior Court child custody expertise, adoption and research of the biological family history.

Rehabilitation Centre

The mission of the rehabilitation centre (CR) is to provide adaptation and/or rehabilitation and social integration services to individuals that require them due to physical or intellectual disabilities, behavioural, psychosocial or family problems, dependency on alcohol, drug, or gambling issues, as well as any other form of dependency. Rehabilitation centres are also required to provide coaching and support for the immediate family of the people it serves.

Rehabilitation centres belong to one or more of the following categories, depending on their clientele:

  • Rehabilitation centres for individuals with an intellectual disability or pervasive developmental disorder
  • Rehabilitation centres for individuals with a physical disability (hearing, sight, motor or speech)
  • Rehabilitation centres for individuals with a dependency
  • Rehabilitation centres for youth with adaptation difficulties
  • Rehabilitation centre for mothers with adaptation difficulties

Breakdown by types of institutions

Since the Act to Modify the Organization and Governance of the Health and Social Services Network, in Particular by Abolishing the Regional Agencies Lien externe came into force on April 1, 2015, the Québec health and social services network includes the following:

  • Twenty-two integrated health and social services centres, nine of which are designated as university health and social services integrated centres. Only integrated centres located in a health region where a university offers a complete undergraduate medical program or operates a university institute in the social field are entitled to use the wording “university health and social services integrated centre” in their title
  • Seven institutions that were not amalgamated with an integrated centre of which four are university hospital centres (CHU) and three are university institutes (IU)
  • Five institutions not covered by the Act offering services to an Aboriginal and northern population.

Each institution may offer services in several sites that are physical locations where health and social services are provided.

It should be noted that 17 institutions that were not amalgamated under the Act have been grouped into integrated centres, and are managed by the centre’s board of directors.

In addition to the services provided by public institutions, the population benefits from services such as lodging and long-term care that are provided by private institutions.

Moreover, four integrated university health networks (RUIS) promote collaboration and complementarity, and fulfill the combined mission of care, teaching and research that is incumbent upon the health institutions and the universities with which they are affiliated. These are the Université Laval, McGill University, Université de Montréal and Université de Sherbrooke integrated university health networks.

Updated on : November 30, 2015

Page top


Logo québec
© Gouvernement du Québec, 2017

Logo MSSS
Bandeau du site

Établissements de santé et de services sociaux

Accueil > Réseau > Les établissements de santé

Mission des établissements

Les établissements offrent à la population des services généraux et spécialisés correspondant aux 5 grandes missions définies par la Loi sur les services de santé et les services sociaux (RLRQ, chapitre S-4.2) selon qu’ils exploitent un :

Au Québec, un établissement peut assumer plus d’une mission. Ainsi, les centres intégrés de santé et de services sociaux et les centres intégrés universitaires de santé et de services sociaux (centres intégrés) peuvent exploiter un CLSC, un CHSLD, un CH, un CPEJ et un CR. Ces regroupements de missions visent une meilleure intégration des services.

Centre local de services communautaires

La mission d’un centre local de services communautaires (CLSC) est d’offrir en première ligne des services de santé et des services sociaux courants et, à la population du territoire qu’il dessert, des services de nature préventive ou curative, de réadaptation ou de réinsertion, ainsi que des activités de santé publique. Le centre intégré qui assume cette mission doit s’assurer que les personnes ayant besoin de tels services pour elles-mêmes ou pour leurs proches soient rejointes, que leurs besoins soient évalués et que les services requis leurs soient fournis à l’intérieur de ses installations ou dans le milieu de vie des personnes, c’est-à-dire à l’école, au travail ou à domicile. Au besoin, il s’assurera que ces personnes sont dirigées vers les centres, les organismes ou les personnes les plus aptes à leur venir en aide.

Centre hospitalier

La mission d’un centre hospitalier (CH) est d’offrir des services diagnostiques ainsi que des soins médicaux généraux et spécialisés. Il existe deux classes de CH :

  • le centre hospitalier de soins généraux et spécialisés;
  • le centre hospitalier de soins psychiatriques.

Centre d’hébergement et de soins de longue durée

La mission d’un centre d’hébergement et de soins de longue durée (CHSLD) est d’offrir, de façon temporaire ou permanente, des services d’hébergement, d’assistance, de soutien et de surveillance ainsi que des services psychosociaux, infirmiers, pharmaceutiques, médicaux et de réadaptation aux adultes qui, en raison de leur perte d’autonomie fonctionnelle ou psychosociale, ne peuvent plus demeurer dans leur milieu de vie naturel.

Centre de protection de l’enfance et de la jeunesse

La mission d’un centre de protection de l’enfance et de la jeunesse (CPEJ) est d’offrir des services de nature psychosociale, y compris des services d’urgence sociale, aux jeunes dont la situation le requiert en vertu de la Loi sur la protection de la jeunesse (RLRQ, chapitre P-34.1) et de la Loi sur le système de justice pénale pour les adolescents (L.C., 2002, chapitre 1). Cette mission couvre aussi le placement d’enfants, la médiation familiale, l’expertise à la Cour supérieure sur la garde d’enfants, l’adoption et la recherche des antécédents biologiques.

Centre de réadaptation

La mission d’un centre de réadaptation (CR) est d’offrir des services d’adaptation ou de réadaptation et d’intégration sociale à des personnes qui, en raison de leurs déficiences physiques ou intellectuelles, de leurs difficultés d’ordre comportemental, psychosocial ou familial, de leur dépendance à l’alcool, aux drogues, aux jeux de hasard et d’argent ou de toute autre dépendance, ont besoin de tels services. Le CR doit également offrir des services d’accompagnement et de soutien à l’entourage de ces personnes.

Un CR appartient à une ou à plusieurs des classes suivantes, selon la clientèle à laquelle il s’adresse :

  • centre de réadaptation pour les personnes présentant une déficience intellectuelle ou un trouble envahissant du développement;
  • centre de réadaptation pour les personnes ayant une déficience physique (auditive, visuelle, motrice ou du langage);
  • centre de réadaptation pour les personnes ayant une dépendance;
  • centre de réadaptation pour les jeunes en difficulté d’adaptation;
  • centre de réadaptation pour les mères en difficulté d’adaptation.

Répartition des établissements

Depuis le 1er avril 2015, à la suite de l’entrée en vigueur de la Loi modifiant l’organisation et la gouvernance du réseau de la santé et des services sociaux notamment par l’abolition des agences régionales (LMRSSS) Lien externe.(RLRQ, chapitre O-7.2), le réseau québécois de la santé et des services sociaux comprend :

  • 22 centres intégrés de santé et de services sociaux (centres intégrés). Neuf d’entre eux se nomment des centres intégrés universitaires de santé et de services sociaux. Seul un centre intégré qui se trouve dans une région sociosanitaire où une université offre un programme complet d’études prédoctorales en médecine ou qui exploite un centre désigné institut universitaire dans le domaine social peut utiliser dans son nom les mots « centre intégré universitaire de santé et de services sociaux »;
  • 7 établissements non fusionnés à un centre intégré, soit 4 centres hospitaliers universitaires (CHU) et 3 instituts universitaires (IU);
  • 5 établissements non visés par la LMRSSS desservant une population nordique et autochtone.

Chacun des établissements peut offrir des services dans plusieurs installations qui sont des lieux physiques où sont dispensés les soins de santé et de services sociaux.

Notons que 17 établissements ont été regroupés à des centres intégrés. Ces établissements n’ont pas fait l’objet de fusion avec d’autres établissements en vertu de la LMRSSS, mais ils sont administrés par le conseil d’administration du centre intégré auquel ils sont regroupés.

En plus des services offerts par les établissements publics, la population bénéficie des services des établissements privés qui offrent notamment des services en hébergement et des soins de longue durée.

Par ailleurs, 4 réseaux universitaires intégrés de santé (RUIS) favorisent la concertation, la complémentarité ainsi que l’intégration des missions de soins, d’enseignement et de recherche dévolues aux établissements de santé et aux universités auxquelles ceux-ci sont affiliés. Ce sont les réseaux universitaires intégrés de santé de l’Université Laval, de l’Université McGill, de l’Université de Montréal et de l’Université de Sherbrooke.

Dernière mise à jour : 5 août 2015

Haut de la page


Lien vers le portail du gouvernement du québec
© Gouvernement du Québec, 2017